A Decade’s Worth of Apologizing

I started writing this article as an Instagram post, but after I realized how much I had to say on the topic, I decided to move it to my blog first. I wanted to take a look back at the past decade and explore how apologizing has evolved over time. From understanding the power of an apology to learning to say sorry meaningfully, I’ve come a long way in my journey. I hope this article can help others too.

Relationships can vary from long-term commitments to casual acquaintances. In addition, they can be emotionally intense or simply platonic. When we think of relationships, it’s natural to feel that it’s always the other person who gets tired of us and leaves. But what they sometimes don’t realize is that we can also get tired, yet decide to stay.

Staying comes at a cost – an apology. The act of saying sorry does not mean we are wrong. Apologies can stem from various reasons – for being too much, not being enough, being too eager, or not eager enough. We may apologize even when we know it’s not our fault, as we believe we could have handled the situation differently (and better). We are sorry because we don’t want to be the ones to leave. We apologize for maintaining the connection, even when it’s slowly tearing us apart.

Some people have been blessed by our presence, while others have been hurt by our actions. We often find it difficult to admit that we have made mistakes and that our behavior sometimes has adverse effects on others.

When admitting our mistakes, we usually struggle to express ourselves. Similarly, saying “I need help” and a simple “I love you” can be difficult. But it’s critical to recognize that these words can be a sign of strength and growth.

Nevertheless, we can acknowledge our errors and take accountability for our deeds. It’s difficult, but also necessary to move forward and grow. And by doing so, we can create healthier and more meaningful relationships with others.

We will never be faultless, nor will our relationships be. We can only do our best to ensure that our words and actions bring more kindness and understanding into the world. We must learn from our mistakes and be willing to accept that sometimes, we are wrong.

There are times when I wasn’t right and hurt others with what I did and the silly things I said. Here I am, “I’m sorry.”

By:

Posted in:


Leave a comment